Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Best Western Australasia Board of Directors are:

Phil Hateley President / Chairman
Phil has been a member of Best Western for 27 years, 22 of these served as a Director and 12 as President/Chairman. Phil serves on the Best Western International Executive Committee and the International Brand Management Functional Team. Phil currently owns and operates the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel 115 Kew in Melbourne and the BEST WESTERN PLUS Hovell Tree Inn, Albury. Phil has a background in electronic engineering and prior to entering the hospitality industry, worked for 13 years in the research and development department of Telstra.

Robert Anderson Chief Executive
Appointed to his current position in 2005, he was a member of Best Western for 23 years, 16 years as a Director and four years as President/Chairman. Robert has worked for American Express, Lintas Advertising and has a Bachelor of Business and Master of Commerce (Hons). He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management. In 2001 Robert received the inaugural Best Western Global Leadership Award for his contribution to the international organisation.

Paul Hodda
Paul has 12 years’ experience in hotel management as an owner /operator. He currently owns the BEST WESTERN Ascot Lodge Motor Inn (Goondiwindi, QLD). Paul was appointed to the Board of Directors in 2008. This year marks his twelfth year as a Best Western member.

Col Hughes
Col is currently Chairman of the National Tourism Alliance, Chairman of the Sydney Convention and Visitors Bureau, Managing Director of airline representation company, World Aviation Systems, member of the Federal Government National Aviation Advisory Committee and a Governor of the American Chamber of Commerce in Australia (AMCHAM). He joined the Best Western Board in 2003, prior to which, he held executive management positions with Cathay Pacific Airways, Continental Airlines, Northwest Airlines and Qantas.

Gerald Loughran Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee
Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee. Gerald was appointed to the Board in 2004. He has extensive experience serving as Chairman and Director of public and private companies in banking, manufacturing, agribusiness, tourism and retail. Previously, Gerald served as Chairman and Managing Director of his family-owned electrical and furnishing business. He is a past Director of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and he currently serves as an Independent Director for Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers and is President of the Tasmanian University Foundation.

Ian Sandilands
Ian is a current member of the Board and Audit and Risk Committee. He and his family have over 35 years experience and involvement in the hotel, motel, restaurant, catering and hospitality catering industry and operate BEST WESTERN The Gregory Terrace Brisbane and BEST WESTERN The Henry Parkes Tenterfield. He has been a member for nine years and a board member for seven years. He is a Director on the National Board of the Accommodation Association of Australia (AAA), a member of the Hospitality Training Association of Australia (HTA), the Australian Institute Company of Directors and the Principal of Sandilands Hospitality Consulting.

Craig Swingler
Craig owns and manages the BEST WESTERN Alexander Motel in South Australia and has been an active member since 2004. In 2008, at the Best Western Convention, Craig was awarded the President’s Award for “Outstanding contribution and committment to the prosperity of Best Western Australasia and in support of its programs”. He has also served as chair of the SA/NT co-op, is a member of the Board Advisory Panel and the South Australian Government Minister’s round table on tourism.